How many games in La Liga?

How many games in La Liga? The Campeonato Nacional de Liga de Primera Division is usually popular as La Liga for sponsorship reasons with Santander. It is the men’s top professional football division of the Spanish football league system.

How many games in La Liga?

The competition format of La Liga follows the usual double round-robin format. During the season course that lasts from the month August to May, each club plays with every other club two times – 1 time at home and 1 time away for 38 match days. Teams receive 3 points for a win, 1 point for a draw and no points for every loss. The winner and 3 other teams are playing in next season UEFA Champions League.

How many games in La Liga and Participants?

Throughout the history of the competition, 62 different teams have participated, with only 3 who have always remained in the first category since its inaugural edition. 

These are Athletic Club, FC Barcelona, and Real Madrid CF. These 3 also, together with CA Osasuna, are the only ones that remain sports entities owned by their members instead of sports corporations owned by shareholders. 

Its privilege granted to have obtained in the audits carried out on behalf of the LFP since the 1985-86 season. 

In addition to the 3 aforementioned teams that have always played in the First Division, there are only 6 other teams in Spain that have never participated in a category lower than the Second. Thus they are always participating in professional football: Valencia CF, Club Atletico de Madrid, RCD Espanol, Sevilla FC, Real Sporting de Gijon, and Real Sociedad de Futbol.

How many games in La Liga?
Games in La Liga

The oldest playing field in Spain in the competition is the Mestalla Stadium, with origins in 1923. It is using by Valencia CF, surpassing the Madrigal Stadium of the Villarreal Club de Futbol for just one month. 

On the other hand, the Wanda Metropolitano del Atletico de Madrid, and the San Mames Stadium of Athletic Club are the newest venues in the competition. 

The latter replaced the previous homonymous stadium. It was the only one that hosted all the editions of the First Division until its demolition in 2013. The Valencian field became the one with the most editions of the competition.

Current regulations on foreign players:

Each club can register 25 players in the league each season, of which only 3 can have citizenship outside the countries of the European Union. European legislation makes no distinction between players of Spanish nationality and nationals of any other country of the Union.

 How many games in La Liga?
La Liga Teams

In the 1990s, the participation of a third foreigner per team was authorized. Subsequently, of a fourth with the condition that only three agreed at the same time on the pitch. With the Bosman ruling of 1995, which opened the doors of the League to all Europeans, extra-community places were reduced to three per club. 

However, this caused Spanish clubs to receive a large number of foreigners, especially Latin Americans, who often process a community passport given their European ancestry.

Today, Athletic Club is the only team that does not sign players not born in the Basque Country. The so-called Basque provinces or formed in the quarry of a Basque club. The club has maintained this custom since 1911.

Football players registration:

Clubs can align footballers who have previously been registered, with a maximum of 25 federation tokens. Of these, only 3 may correspond to foreign non-EU soccer players. That is players whose nationality does not correspond to the countries of the European Union. In matches, these 3 non-EU members can line up simultaneously.

There are 2 open periods for the registration of soccer players. The first, before the competition begins (July and August) and the second, mid-season (during the month of January). 

Outside these periods only registrations are authorizing, exceptionally, if a player causes a loss due to injury with an estimated period of inactivity of more than five months.

Apart from the 25 registered professional soccer players, clubs can line up the players of their subsidiary and lower categories unlimitedly. Only if they are under 23 years old and do not have a professional license. If, on the contrary, they are over 23 years old, the regulations prevent them from playing again in a lower category team. 

Summary of the most notable changes:

– League of 10 teams from the 1928/29 season (first edition) to the 1933/34 season (inclusive),

– League of 12 teams from the 1934/35 season to the 1940/41 season (both inclusive, although between 1936 and 1939 no there were competitions due to the civil war). 

– League of 14 teams from the 1941/42 season to 1949/50 (both inclusive). 

– League of 16 teams from the 1950/51 season to the 1970/1971 season (both inclusive). 

– League of 18 teams from the 1971/72 season to the 1986/87 seasons (both inclusive). 

– League of 20 teams from the 1987/88 season and up to the present, with the exceptions of Leagues 1995/1996 and 1996/97 With 22 teams.

– As of the 1995/1996 season, 3 points are awarding per victory. The obligation to put the first and/or last name on the dorsal of each player was also established. The number of substitutions allowed during the match from 2 to 3 for each team extends.

– As of the 1996/1997 season, the so-called “Bosman law” applies. That considered any player in the European Union as their own in the country, without occupying a foreign position.

– From the 1999-2000 season, the promotion of descent/ascent was eliminating and the number of ascents and direct descents between First and Second Division per season was increasing by one (from 2 to 3).

– From the 2018/19 season, the VAR and the asymmetric calendar are implementing.

If you are looking for the best bitcoin sports betting site, we offer to go with which is one of the trusted online sportsbooks and casinos.